Skip to content

Road to The Raptism pt. 2: The Audacity of Al Green

April 4, 2010

I’d like to take a little time out to give props to the Rev. Al Green. We all know & love his music, as it has provided the soundtrack to many a family get-together! You should be familiar with timeless classics such as “Love & Happiness”, “Let’s Stay Together”, “Tired of Being Alone”, “I Still In Love With You”….etc. It goes without saying that the Rev is one of my favorite artists of all time & also a really big influence on me musically. However, it seems like one of the biggest moments in his career often goes without mention – the time he decided to abandon the “secular” music world and turn to gospel. Having already achieved an extraordinary amount of success already, I’m sure that he was extrememly conflicted about the decision – but when you have it in you it’s impossible to ignore your calling.

Green’s “The Belle Album” perfectly exemplifies this struggle & transition, particularly on the title track “Belle”. On this track, he tells a woman that “It’s you I want but it’s Him I need”…only if you really think about it, the “woman” could be considered a metaphor for all of the limelight, lust, and luxury that his secular success brought him. I’m writing about this not because I love this song (and anything by the Rev.) but especially because I really feel what inspired him to go with the theme. It pretty much epitomized what I’ve been going through since “The Public Speaker” – it’s like a small voice in my head saying “but what about God?” I was driving to some random town in South GA (Cordele, maybe?) when I decided to finally listen to the album fully after having it for over a year. Needless to say, I got inspired – it’s amazing how music can really clarify your thoughts/feelings/emotions on different situations. Absolutely liberating….hopefully you’ll be able to say the same when you hear “The Raptism” soon.

Check out the lyrics of the song “Belle” here: http://www.metrolyrics.com/belle-lyrics-al-green.html

Listen to “The Belle Album” snippets, read reviews and buy the album here: http://www.amazon.com/Belle-Album-Al-Green/dp/B00002R0MI

More insight to come.

Be blessed & Be eazy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 6:49 pm

    Green is and was one of the greatest singers of our time hands down!

  2. April 7, 2010 9:11 pm

    Yes indeed! Forget our time…of ALL time!

Leave a Reply

