Skip to content

MM#10: Small Talk (prod. by Yankes Productions)

January 30, 2012

First post of 2012!!!

I know it’s been over a month since the last post, but hey…I can take a break, can’t I? This Monday’s post features the short song Small Talk, prod. by Yankes Productions. This joint is just one verse; just a little peak into my mindstate at the time. Kind of a snapshot into what I was feeling like exactly when I wrote the song. Basically, the content is similar to what I’d say in response to the question “How’s it goin’?”….hence the title, “Small Talk”. I’d say it’s definitely one of the more laid-back jams on the mixtape, but definitely one of my personal favorites. Just chill and let it play.

Hey….speaking of “Small Talk”, you should peep Small Talk at 125th and Lenox, an album from one of my favorite artists/inspirations Gil Scott-Heron. Here’s his Comment #1, an unfiltered, searing commentary on some very harsh realities of America:

“Small Talk”  Audio:

Lyrics:

“People ask if I’m still rappin’, I tell ’em ‘Yes!”/They loved The Raptism but they ready for the next/Installment of the series, I Hope They Hear Me/That’s word to Dee-1, I’m feeling really, hopeful cuz people cheer me/I pray that someone feel me as I try to say somethin’/To some it’s a grind, but music’s my escape from it/So what you take from it, is entirely yours/I try to pay attention, it’s all I can afford/As I moonlight trying to make the truth bright/I never presume right, but I’d just as soon write/Down my thoughts on this pen & pad for songs you can listen at/And maybe a line or verse, you’ll remember that/I try to keep these flows on the low, so/I separate my life as a pro-fessional/Till a student hears my raps and says I should blow/No….well maybe so but I’m not entering the industry, you already know why/Or maybe you don’t, but baby I won’t/Cuz I got a wife and we making babies at home/……..Oh maybe not yet, I know you heard P.S./I’m turning to a Family Guy, no TBS/I know Eazy’s a mess but you’re entertained, yes?/I’m just trying my best to see that I’ll always be blessed/I’m just a son in the sun trying to find a way/And in the meantime, I’m hoping for a brighter day/This music’s a journey, a path that we can all walk/Together, it’s always better with small talk”

Be eazy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 11:51 pm

    Mo dopeness

Leave a Reply

