Skip to content

MM#15: Blue Dreams rmx (prod. by King I Divine)

June 18, 2012

Great album. You need his music in your life.

What do you dream of? You know, it’s like we all have dreams and aspirations in life that we wish to accomplish, but the incessant humdrum of everyday life and “the grind” beats our hopes down until you see those lofty goals through jaded glasses. To me, it’s as if I still have these dreams and I want to realize them someday, but they’ve been pushed to the back of my mind because of the current reality – which isn’t bad but yet so far away from where I wanna be. No matter how good you are at something, inevitably you’ll have times where you question your ability to excel, particularly when it seems that you have so much competition. King I Divine created a masterful beat here with a soulful looped sample and honestly I think it’s one of the tracks that I really just melted into lyrically because the chemistry felt perfect. Forget trying to impress folks – the words just spilled out of me! This song is considered a “remix” of sorts because it was originally on The Public Speaker; I decided to re-record it and throw a third verse on the end as an updated perspective as I’ve grown. So family, what do you do when your dreams are blue? Also….RIP GIL SCOTT-HERON.

Listen:

 

Lyrics:
Sometimes I struggle with my confidence/It’s not like I ain’t confident, I know I got talent/But will anyone else acknowledge it?/It do seem like everybody’s a rapper/And I’m choosing a route that’s doomed to fail, just like my hoop dreams/What makes me so special? Sometimes I don’t even know/But I’m better than most of those with a CD in the sto’/What I need just to blow? Just get my feet in the do’/I’ll do the rest myself, it’s nothin’ I ain’t seen befo’/But reality is, it’s fallacy kid – I’m saddened by this/Unhappiness at what my salary is/Because I can’t afford the money to support my dream/Of course this theme, begins to run the course of things/When that doubt creeps in it’s such a sordid scene/The more I dream, the more it seems to bore at me/But I just maintain, that’s all that I can do/And for that reason, it’s kinda like I’m dreamin’ in blue

Hook:
What do you do when your dreams are blue?
When your options are few, do you have a clue? (What do you do?)
(Repeat 4X)

Verse 2: Time waits for no man, I keep watch on the tickin’/Wonderin’, when it’s my turn for folks to really wanna listen/To someone who’s really spittin’ what the good God has given/Prayin’, for the day I do my art for a livin’/Then I turn on the radio just for a change of pace/And it seems like some posers are winnin’ the same race that I’m runnin’/You mean to tell me that if I dance, sound as ignorant as possible, wear skinny little pants/Then I’ll maybe have a chance to see my fanbase advance?/You can miss me with that, that ain’t even in my plans homie/I’m in my stance lonely, never a man phony/Just understand that I will stand as a man only/But still I know it’s the road less traveled/That fact alone’s enough to make some people unravel/But I just maintain, that’s all that I can do/And for that reason, it’s kinda like I’m dreamin’ in blue, blue

Hook

Verse 3:

It’s been two years, so I guess some perspective was needed/To figure out, just exactly where I’m headed/I still don’t know for sho’, where I’m bout to go/But lo, and behold I see the bigger picture/Guess I had to grow a little more to realize that I’m blessed to be/In a position where I’m able to shape my destiny/Let me be great – is what I asked God/Couldn’t define it though, is greatness just restricted to recordings on a microphone?/Nah…and so I dream bigger, and just refocus some/To bring clarification to my thoughts as I wrote this song/It’s no longer all or nothing, I got some people that love my music/So I do it for them and me, suspend these dreams of a bluish hue/As I pursue my truth, wherever I’m destined I know it will be beautiful/And so I maintain, that’s all that I can do/I found my reasons, for no longer dreaming in blue, blue

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

